Tag Archives: relationships

Teen Book Pick: Places No One Knows by Brenna Yovanoff

Places No One Knows by Brenna Yovanoff is my teen book pick of the month. Let me just say that this book is amazing and a truly unique read. I never thought I would like magical realism, but this book won me over. This book is for fans of Before I Fall, We Were Liars, Keep Holding On, and The Hundred Lies of Lizzie Lovett.

Continue reading Teen Book Pick: Places No One Knows by Brenna Yovanoff

Thomas Jefferson Dreams of Sally Hemings, by Stephen O’Connor

t-jefferson-sally-hemingsI chose to read this book after reading a synopsis of it in Book Page. I vaguely remembered hearing that Thomas Jefferson had a long standing and intimate relationship with one of the female slaves he owned and I was intrigued to learn more.

 

Continue reading Thomas Jefferson Dreams of Sally Hemings, by Stephen O’Connor

Valentines Day: More Than a Box of Chocolates?

Since Geoffrey Chaucer first popularized the connection between Valentines Day and romance in the 14th Century, we have been struggling to find just the right token of affection for our beloved.  Flowers, jewelry, a fancy dinner, a trip to the spa, a box of chocolates …  perhaps we’re in need of some inspiration to break out of our Valentines Day rut.  I found some books in our collection that look at love from several different angles.  Continue reading Valentines Day: More Than a Box of Chocolates?