Tag Archives: fantasy

Teens Recommend…TCC Book Selections

Here are some new books that our teens are excited to read!

By Your Side by Kasie West * Daughter of the Pirate King by Tricia Levenseller * Don’t Touch by Rachel Wilson * Asking for It by Louise O’Neill * Children of Eden by Joey Graceffa * Denton Little’s Still Not Dead by Lance Rubin * The Edge of Everything by Jeff Giles * History Is All You Left Me by Adam Silvera * We Are Okay by Nina LaCour * A Tragic Kind of Wonderful by Eric Lindstrom * Alex and Eliza: A Love Story by Melissa de La Cruz * Alex, Approximately by Jenn Bennett * Beck by Mal Peet * Who Killed Christopher Goodman?: Based on a True Crime by Allan Wolf

This Month’s Reviews

Continue reading Teens Recommend…TCC Book Selections

Kids’ Book Pick: Class Pet Squad: Journey to the Center of Town by Dan Yaccarino

Class Pet Squad: Journey to the Center of Town by Dan Yaccarino is my children’s book pick for the month. It is fun, goofy, and full of adventure. This book is great for kids who have enjoyed Traction Man meets Turbodog, Mutant rat attack!, Captain Underpants, Gilbert Goldfish Wants a Pet, and Squish. What I loved about this book was that it was a chapter book with lots of colorful images. Each page includes silly drawings that help move the story forward. It is a great book for visual learners and kids who are looking to develop literacy and reading comprehension skills.

Continue reading Kids’ Book Pick: Class Pet Squad: Journey to the Center of Town by Dan Yaccarino

Teen Book Pick: Places No One Knows by Brenna Yovanoff

Places No One Knows by Brenna Yovanoff is my teen book pick of the month. Let me just say that this book is amazing and a truly unique read. I never thought I would like magical realism, but this book won me over. This book is for fans of Before I Fall, We Were Liars, Keep Holding On, and The Hundred Lies of Lizzie Lovett.

Continue reading Teen Book Pick: Places No One Knows by Brenna Yovanoff

Redefining Family through Tony Diterlizzi’s WondLa series

Book 1: Search for WondLa

Lisa from the Youth team reviews this series for older kids, a hybrid of science fiction and fantasy; though they are not graphic novels, the imaginative storytelling is enhanced through DiTerlizzi’s distinctive illustrations.

I just finished reading the WondLa series by Tony DiTerlizzi. It is a wonderful mix of characters and action in a futuristic setting: imagine Rogue One meets Planet of the Apes meets The Wizard of Oz.

Continue reading Redefining Family through Tony Diterlizzi’s WondLa series