Tag Archives: family

Kids’ Book Pick: Gorilla Dawn by Gill Lewis

Gorilla Dawn by Gill Lewis is my kid’s book pick for the month. It is a heart-warming story filled with action and adventure. This book is for kids who have enjoyed The Murderer’s Ape by Jakob Wegelius, Wild Wings by Gill Lewis, and Journey’s End by Rachel Hawkins. This book is not only a great read, but one that will also make you feel like you are a part of the story.

Continue reading Kids’ Book Pick: Gorilla Dawn by Gill Lewis

Teen Book Picks: To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before, The Upside of Unrequited, & Death Cloud

Are you ready for summer? Do you have your sunglasses, sunscreen, fidget spinners, summer reading logs, and books to read? I can’t help you with the first three, but I can help you with reading logs and some summer reading recommendations. First things first, you can register online or in person at the library for summer reading. We have lots of free books and other prizes that you can win. It is pretty awesome. Now I couldn’t choose just one book to recommend for June, so here are three fun books to read this summer!

Continue reading Teen Book Picks: To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before, The Upside of Unrequited, & Death Cloud

Teen Book Pick: Places No One Knows by Brenna Yovanoff

Places No One Knows by Brenna Yovanoff is my teen book pick of the month. Let me just say that this book is amazing and a truly unique read. I never thought I would like magical realism, but this book won me over. This book is for fans of Before I Fall, We Were Liars, Keep Holding On, and The Hundred Lies of Lizzie Lovett.

Continue reading Teen Book Pick: Places No One Knows by Brenna Yovanoff

Redefining Family through Tony Diterlizzi’s WondLa series

Book 1: Search for WondLa

Lisa from the Youth team reviews this series for older kids, a hybrid of science fiction and fantasy; though they are not graphic novels, the imaginative storytelling is enhanced through DiTerlizzi’s distinctive illustrations.

I just finished reading the WondLa series by Tony DiTerlizzi. It is a wonderful mix of characters and action in a futuristic setting: imagine Rogue One meets Planet of the Apes meets The Wizard of Oz.

Continue reading Redefining Family through Tony Diterlizzi’s WondLa series

2017 Newbery Medal: The Girl Who Drank the Moon

Girl Who Drank the MoonIt’s official…The Girl Who Drank the Moon, by Kelly Barnhill, is the winner of the 2017 Newbery Medal (which celebrates achievement in children’s literature).

“Moonlight is magic. Ask anyone you like.” Barnhill’s story is also pure magic, distinguished by careful development of a complex plot and indelible evocation of unique characters. Love, heartbreak, hope, sorrow, and wonder all shine in exquisite, lyrical prose.

Continue reading 2017 Newbery Medal: The Girl Who Drank the Moon