Tag Archives: dystopian

Kid Book Picks

Here are ten quotes from ten different books that I loved reading this summer and definitely recommend adding to your to-be-read pile. Want to know more about each of these books? Then click on the title to read more about it in our catalog.

Continue reading Kid Book Picks

Teen Book Picks

I love recommending books and as I have said before, it is so hard to choose just one to recommend! So I thought I would try something new for this month’s teen book pick. Here are ten quotes from ten different books that I loved reading this summer and definitely recommend adding to your to be read pile. Want to know more about each of these books? Then click on the title to read more about it in our catalog.

Continue reading Teen Book Picks

Kids’ Book Picks: Furthermore by Tahereh Mafi, LEGO Star Wars: Rebel Alliance, and Goodnight Numbers by Danica McKellar

I often struggle to choose just one kid book each month, because I have so many I want to recommend! This is why I decided to pick three very different and wonderful books for my kid book picks this month. If you need or want more recommendations, then make sure to visit our online catalog to see staff picks for kids, tweens, teens, and adults.

Continue reading Kids’ Book Picks: Furthermore by Tahereh Mafi, LEGO Star Wars: Rebel Alliance, and Goodnight Numbers by Danica McKellar

Teens Recommend…TCC Book Selections

Here are some new books that our teens are excited to read!

By Your Side by Kasie West * Daughter of the Pirate King by Tricia Levenseller * Don’t Touch by Rachel Wilson * Asking for It by Louise O’Neill * Children of Eden by Joey Graceffa * Denton Little’s Still Not Dead by Lance Rubin * The Edge of Everything by Jeff Giles * History Is All You Left Me by Adam Silvera * We Are Okay by Nina LaCour * A Tragic Kind of Wonderful by Eric Lindstrom * Alex and Eliza: A Love Story by Melissa de La Cruz * Alex, Approximately by Jenn Bennett * Beck by Mal Peet * Who Killed Christopher Goodman?: Based on a True Crime by Allan Wolf

This Month’s Reviews

Continue reading Teens Recommend…TCC Book Selections

Teen Book Pick of the Month

Red Queen Book Cover

Red Queen: Red Queen Series, Book 1 by Victoria Aveyard is my teen book pick of the month. I am obsessed with this series! One Goodreads reviewer described it as “Magical perfection” and I couldn’t agree more.

This is a story for fans of Hunger Games, Divergent, The Darkest Minds, The Selection, and Throne of Glass. The Red Queen is about a dystopian society that is divided by blood. Those with red blood live in poverty as commoners and servants, while those with silver blood are among the elite ruling class and have terrifying and magical powers. Continue reading Teen Book Pick of the Month