Tag Archives: adventure

Kids’ Book Pick: Class Pet Squad: Journey to the Center of Town by Dan Yaccarino

Class Pet Squad: Journey to the Center of Town by Dan Yaccarino is my children’s book pick for the month. It is fun, goofy, and full of adventure. This book is great for kids who have enjoyed Traction Man meets Turbodog, Mutant rat attack!, Captain Underpants, Gilbert Goldfish Wants a Pet, and Squish. What I loved about this book was that it was a chapter book with lots of colorful images. Each page includes silly drawings that help move the story forward. It is a great book for visual learners and kids who are looking to develop literacy and reading comprehension skills.

Continue reading Kids’ Book Pick: Class Pet Squad: Journey to the Center of Town by Dan Yaccarino

Redefining Family through Tony Diterlizzi’s WondLa series

Book 1: Search for WondLa

Lisa from the Youth team reviews this series for older kids, a hybrid of science fiction and fantasy; though they are not graphic novels, the imaginative storytelling is enhanced through DiTerlizzi’s distinctive illustrations.

I just finished reading the WondLa series by Tony DiTerlizzi. It is a wonderful mix of characters and action in a futuristic setting: imagine Rogue One meets Planet of the Apes meets The Wizard of Oz.

Continue reading Redefining Family through Tony Diterlizzi’s WondLa series

Teen Book Pick: The Young Elites by Marie Lu

The Young Elites by Marie Lu is my teen book pick of the month. I am obsessed with this series and recommend it to anyone who loves a good fantasy book. There are three books in the series and each one gets better and better. This series is for fans of Dissonance, Throne of Glass, Pivot Point, Cinder, and Legend. Now I must warn you – this is not the story of a hero’s rise to greatness, but a villain’s rise to greatness.

Continue reading Teen Book Pick: The Young Elites by Marie Lu