Tag Archives: adventure

Redefining Family through Tony Diterlizzi’s WondLa series

Book 1: Search for WondLa

Lisa from the Youth team reviews this series for older kids, a hybrid of science fiction and fantasy; though they are not graphic novels, the imaginative storytelling is enhanced through DiTerlizzi’s distinctive illustrations.

I just finished reading the WondLa series by Tony DiTerlizzi. It is a wonderful mix of characters and action in a futuristic setting: imagine Rogue One meets Planet of the Apes meets The Wizard of Oz.

Continue reading Redefining Family through Tony Diterlizzi’s WondLa series

Teen Book Pick: The Young Elites by Marie Lu

The Young Elites by Marie Lu is my teen book pick of the month. I am obsessed with this series and recommend it to anyone who loves a good fantasy book. There are three books in the series and each one gets better and better. This series is for fans of Dissonance, Throne of Glass, Pivot Point, Cinder, and Legend. Now I must warn you – this is not the story of a hero’s rise to greatness, but a villain’s rise to greatness.

Continue reading Teen Book Pick: The Young Elites by Marie Lu

Teen Book Pick: Stormbreaker by Anthony Horowitz

stormbreakerStormbreaker by Anthony Horowitz is my teen book pick of the month. If you love mystery and adventure, you will love this series!  Stormbreaker is book one in an amazing spy series that spans over nine books and counting. I could not put this book down and was on the edge of my seat the entire read! I don’t want to give too much away, but you should know there will be epic fights, plane hijacking, and lots of undercover sleuthing. I definitely recommend this book if you like larger-than-life spy stories as much as I do!

Continue reading Teen Book Pick: Stormbreaker by Anthony Horowitz