Kids’ Book Pick: A Pizza the Size of the Sun by Jack Prelutsky

Do not approach an emu,

The bird does not esteem you.

It wields a quick and wicked kick

That’s guaranteed to cream you.

– Jack Prelutsky

A Pizza the Size of the Sun by Jack Prelutsky is my children’s book pick for April. This book is a wonderful introduction to the world of poetry. It is fun, lighthearted, and a truly magical read. It was first published in 1996, but continues to be just as great a read today. It is a book for kids who have enjoyed Prelutsky’s  Be Glad your Nose is on your Face and Other Poems and Something BIG Has Been Here, Janeczko and Raschka’s A Poke in the I, and Silverstein’s Where the Sidewalk Ends.
Continue reading Kids’ Book Pick: A Pizza the Size of the Sun by Jack Prelutsky

Teen Book Pick: The Young Elites by Marie Lu

The Young Elites by Marie Lu is my teen book pick of the month. I am obsessed with this series and recommend it to anyone who loves a good fantasy book. There are three books in the series and each one gets better and better. This series is for fans of Dissonance, Throne of Glass, Pivot Point, Cinder, and Legend. Now I must warn you – this is not the story of a hero’s rise to greatness, but a villain’s rise to greatness.

Continue reading Teen Book Pick: The Young Elites by Marie Lu

One Book 4 Colorado Returns April 17!

The One Book 4 Colorado program aims to get books into the hands of 4 year olds across the state each year.  This year’s free giveaway will take place April 17 – May 1 here at the library, so don’t forget to stop by and pick up a book for that special 4 year old in your life!

Books are available in English and Spanish.  The title of this year’s prize book will be revealed on the 17th.

Learn more about the OB4CO program and the impact is has made here.

OB4CONewLogo-01

Feed your brain and soul: April is National Poetry Month

…Resistance is futile.

move & roll on to this poem
do not resist this poem
this poem has your eyes
this poem has his head
this poem has his arms
this poem has his fingers
this poem has his fingertips

-Excerpt from “Beware: Do Not Read This Poem,” by Ishmael Reed

Whether you are a poet and ya know it, or have nightmares of analyzing poetry in high school, it may be time to approach the subject anew: you may just be surprised at what speaks to something within. Here are some ways to dip your toe back into that poetry pool….

Continue reading Feed your brain and soul: April is National Poetry Month