Category Archives: Teens – Read-Alikes

Teen Book Pick: Places No One Knows by Brenna Yovanoff

Places No One Knows by Brenna Yovanoff is my teen book pick of the month. Let me just say that this book is amazing and a truly unique read. I never thought I would like magical realism, but this book won me over. This book is for fans of Before I Fall, We Were Liars, Keep Holding On, and The Hundred Lies of Lizzie Lovett.

Continue reading Teen Book Pick: Places No One Knows by Brenna Yovanoff

Teen Book Pick: The Young Elites by Marie Lu

The Young Elites by Marie Lu is my teen book pick of the month. I am obsessed with this series and recommend it to anyone who loves a good fantasy book. There are three books in the series and each one gets better and better. This series is for fans of Dissonance, Throne of Glass, Pivot Point, Cinder, and Legend. Now I must warn you – this is not the story of a hero’s rise to greatness, but a villain’s rise to greatness.

Continue reading Teen Book Pick: The Young Elites by Marie Lu

Waiting for Winter: Selections for lovers of fairy tales retold

If, like me, you’ve been waiting for Winter (the next installment of the Lunar Chronicles by Marissa Meyer, due out in November 2015), and you love reading fairy tale retellings or modern fairy-tale-like stories, here are some books to enjoy in the meantime (or anytime this winter!). Most will appeal to teens and adults, with some geared for upper elementary and on up. Continue reading Waiting for Winter: Selections for lovers of fairy tales retold

Beyond Percy Jackson and Harry Potter…Seven other teen fantasy series

Middle school and older fans of fantasy, magic, and mythology might enjoy these other fantasy series, recommended for middle schoolers and up by our teen librarian, Kate! Click a book cover to reserve your copy!

Ranger’s Apprentice series by John Flanagan Rangers
Medieval Europe-style setting; Great characters and dialogue; Book ten is just as good as the first Continue reading Beyond Percy Jackson and Harry Potter…Seven other teen fantasy series