Category Archives: Kids – Read-Alikes

Kids’ Book Pick: Gorilla Dawn by Gill Lewis

Gorilla Dawn by Gill Lewis is my kid’s book pick for the month. It is a heart-warming story filled with action and adventure. This book is for kids who have enjoyed The Murderer’s Ape by Jakob Wegelius, Wild Wings by Gill Lewis, and Journey’s End by Rachel Hawkins. This book is not only a great read, but one that will also make you feel like you are a part of the story.

Continue reading Kids’ Book Pick: Gorilla Dawn by Gill Lewis

Wonder!

Our friends at Brightly have recommended Wonder by R.J. Palacio as their current choice for the Brightly’s Book Club for Kids, and we happily pass along this suggestion to you and your young readers.

Wonder is a glorious exploration of the nature of friendship, tenacity, fear, and most importantly, kindness. A moving read for both kids and adults, it’s a story of one boy’s journey of self-acceptance and an examination of how the ordinary can sometimes be extraordinary.

You’ll like Wonder if you like books with unusual, unique main characters facing difficult challenges or obstacles in their lives. If you’ve read and enjoyed Freak the Mighty, The Thing About Georgie, and/or Schooled, you might love Wonder. It’s also a great book for anyone looking to expand their horizons, challenge their perceptions, or be inspired.

Continue reading Wonder!

Kids’ Book Pick: Class Pet Squad: Journey to the Center of Town by Dan Yaccarino

Class Pet Squad: Journey to the Center of Town by Dan Yaccarino is my children’s book pick for the month. It is fun, goofy, and full of adventure. This book is great for kids who have enjoyed Traction Man meets Turbodog, Mutant rat attack!, Captain Underpants, Gilbert Goldfish Wants a Pet, and Squish. What I loved about this book was that it was a chapter book with lots of colorful images. Each page includes silly drawings that help move the story forward. It is a great book for visual learners and kids who are looking to develop literacy and reading comprehension skills.

Continue reading Kids’ Book Pick: Class Pet Squad: Journey to the Center of Town by Dan Yaccarino

Reading after Harry Potter

life-after-harry-potter

Harry Potter is the book that gets millions of kids reading. I mean really reading … devouring words with a passion and obsessing over characters who feel closer than friends. That kind of reading.

These ten highly recommended, highly addicting, can’t-put-‘em-down stories of adventure and fantasy will lift you out of the post-Harry Potter doldrums. Thanks to our friends at Brightly, for their kind reading advice! – submitted by  Ellen, a Harry Potter fan