Category Archives: Kids – Read-Alikes

Kid Book Picks

Here are ten quotes from ten different books that I loved reading this summer and definitely recommend adding to your to-be-read pile. Want to know more about each of these books? Then click on the title to read more about it in our catalog.

Continue reading Kid Book Picks

Kids’ Book Picks: Furthermore by Tahereh Mafi, LEGO Star Wars: Rebel Alliance, and Goodnight Numbers by Danica McKellar

I often struggle to choose just one kid book each month, because I have so many I want to recommend! This is why I decided to pick three very different and wonderful books for my kid book picks this month. If you need or want more recommendations, then make sure to visit our online catalog to see staff picks for kids, tweens, teens, and adults.

Continue reading Kids’ Book Picks: Furthermore by Tahereh Mafi, LEGO Star Wars: Rebel Alliance, and Goodnight Numbers by Danica McKellar

Kids’ Book Pick: Gorilla Dawn by Gill Lewis

Gorilla Dawn by Gill Lewis is my kid’s book pick for the month. It is a heart-warming story filled with action and adventure. This book is for kids who have enjoyed The Murderer’s Ape by Jakob Wegelius, Wild Wings by Gill Lewis, and Journey’s End by Rachel Hawkins. This book is not only a great read, but one that will also make you feel like you are a part of the story.

Continue reading Kids’ Book Pick: Gorilla Dawn by Gill Lewis

Wonder!

Our friends at Brightly have recommended Wonder by R.J. Palacio as their current choice for the Brightly’s Book Club for Kids, and we happily pass along this suggestion to you and your young readers.

Wonder is a glorious exploration of the nature of friendship, tenacity, fear, and most importantly, kindness. A moving read for both kids and adults, it’s a story of one boy’s journey of self-acceptance and an examination of how the ordinary can sometimes be extraordinary.

You’ll like Wonder if you like books with unusual, unique main characters facing difficult challenges or obstacles in their lives. If you’ve read and enjoyed Freak the Mighty, The Thing About Georgie, and/or Schooled, you might love Wonder. It’s also a great book for anyone looking to expand their horizons, challenge their perceptions, or be inspired.

Continue reading Wonder!

Kids’ Book Pick: Class Pet Squad: Journey to the Center of Town by Dan Yaccarino

Class Pet Squad: Journey to the Center of Town by Dan Yaccarino is my children’s book pick for the month. It is fun, goofy, and full of adventure. This book is great for kids who have enjoyed Traction Man meets Turbodog, Mutant rat attack!, Captain Underpants, Gilbert Goldfish Wants a Pet, and Squish. What I loved about this book was that it was a chapter book with lots of colorful images. Each page includes silly drawings that help move the story forward. It is a great book for visual learners and kids who are looking to develop literacy and reading comprehension skills.

Continue reading Kids’ Book Pick: Class Pet Squad: Journey to the Center of Town by Dan Yaccarino