Category Archives: Adults – Read-Alikes

Libros en Español

La alegría de leer

Acurrúcate con un buen libro, de ficción o de no ficción. ¿Sabías que la Biblioteca Pública de Lafayette tiene libros, audiolibros, películas y música en español? Aquí están algunos libros recientemente añadidos a nuestra colección, algunos conocidos y buenos. Comparta con nosotros una de sus lecturas actuales o algo nuevo que le gustaría ver añadido a nuestros estantes. Entonces encuéntralos todos en el catálogo.

The Joy of Reading

Cozy up with a good book, fiction or non-fiction. Did you know Lafayette Public Library has books, audiobooks, movies and music in Spanish? Here are some new books recently added to our collection, as well as some oldies but goodies! Share with us one of your current reads or something you would like to see added to our shelves. You can find them all in the catalog. 

Libros en Español

– Contributed by Angelique, Librarian – Family Outreach Services

If You Like The Handmaid’s Tale…

The second season of the Emmy award-winning television series, The Handmaid’s Tale, is set to premiere April 25th. While Margaret Atwood wrote her dystopian novel over thirty years ago, the success of the program shows how relevant it still is today. If you find yourself wanting more, check out these other science fiction and dystopian novels! Continue reading If You Like The Handmaid’s Tale…

If You Liked An American Marriage…

Oprah’s newest book club pick, An American Marriage, by Tayari Jones, tells the story of newlyweds, Roy and Celestial, whose relationship is tested by an unjust penal system. The book explores lingering racial injustice in the American South and the tumultuous effects it has on the lives of its characters. Continue reading If You Liked An American Marriage…

YA Books Similar to Black Panther

Are you  obsessed with the Black Panther movie?  Have you already bought tickets to go see it again? Are you already planning your Black Panther cosplay? Are you looking for books or movies that are similar to Black Panther?

If you answered yes to all of the above, then you should seriously check out this list of book recommendations from Epic Reads! 🙂

12 YA Books to Try If You Love Black Panther!

-Contributed by Dominique, Youth Services Librarian