The Last Cowboys: A Pioneer Family in the New West

The Last Cowboys book coverOn The Same Page – The 2019 Choice is The Last Cowboys: A Pioneer Family in the New West by John Branch, Pulitzer Prize Winning Journalist and Author.

On The Same Page (OTSP) is a one-book program that brings residents of Superior, Lafayette, and Louisville together. For nine years, the Town of Superior, the Friends of the Lafayette Library Foundation, and the Louisville Public Library Foundation have created a program that invites neighbors, friends, and family to celebrate reading and community through reading the same book.

The Last Cowboys is a grand and compelling work of reporting that offers deep insight into American ritual and tradition. From branding days to rodeo nights to annual Christmas gatherings, in telling the Wright family’s story, Branch captures something vital of the grit, determination, and integrity that fuel the American Dream.
An unforgettable book by one of the finest reporters of our time, The Last Cowboys is a moving tribute to an American way of life.

“Remarkable.… [The Last Cowboys] has an uncommon ambition: it’s a story not just of rodeo, but of the contemporary West.” —New York Times Book Review

If this book sounds interesting, try our read-alikes for The Last Cowboys.